Set in a beautiful landscape of prestigious vines as far as the eye can see, Château Daugay is located at the foot of the southern and southwestern part of the St. Émilion slope. Like a lookout protecting the village, the estate takes its name from “geai,” meaning “jay.” In the local dialect the birds were known as “daou gay”.
This charming five-hectare vineyard and estate was acquired in 1920 by the Boüard de Laforest family, owners of Château Angelus, and remains in the family’s hands today under the guidance of current proprietor and manager, Hélène Grenié.
Traditional practices—leaf-thinning, some green harvesting when necessary, hand harvesting, and meticulous sorting—bring the ripest, purest fruit to the cellar for vinification. The composition of the Pavillon Daugay is similar to that of the grand wine, with equal parts of Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon and a complement of Cabernet Franc.